Board of Directors


Peter was appointed Chairman and a non-executive director in 2009. He is a member of the Advisory Committee of Telefónica Europe plc, a non-executive adviser to Telefónica Digital and a director of Telefónica S.A. He was Chairman and Chief Executive of O2 until 2008. Prior to this, he held senior positions with BT (from 1993 to 2001), UNITEL and Mars. He is Chairman of the Advisory Board on Strategy at Henley Business School and a member of the Advisory Council of Reading University.

Chief Executive

Richard was appointed Chief Executive and a director in 2010. He was previously Chairman of Sporting Index from 2008 to 2010, having been Chief Executive from 2001. Prior to this, he was Group Managing Director of WCT and CEO of Megalomedia PLC. In 2009, he founded Alinsky Partners where he worked with management, financial institutions and investors to effect transformation. From 2000 to 2010, he served as a special trustee of Great Ormond Street Hospital Children’s Charity and from 2008 to 2010 was a trustee of the Child Health Research Appeal Trust of the UCL Institute of Child Health. Between 2010 and 2011, he was a member of the Bookmakers’ Committee of the Horserace Betting Levy Board. He is a trustee of the Responsible Gambling Trust.

Chief Financial Officer

Ian was appointed Chief Financial Officer and a director in 2011. On 1 September 2014, Ian was appointed as a non-executive director of St Modwen Properties PLC. From 2006 to 2011, he was Group Finance Director of Greene King plc. Between 1997 and 2005, he held a number of senior positions with BT Group, including CEO, BT Retail Enterprises and CFO, BT Retail. Prior to this he was Vice President, Finance, Buena Vista Home Entertainment (Walt Disney Group) from 1993 to 1997 and with Whitbread plc from 1990 to 1993.

Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

John was appointed a non-executive director and Senior Independent Director in 2010. On 7 October 2014, John was appointed a Director of the Kemnal Academies Trust (TKAT).  He was founder and Chief Executive of Gala Coral Group having led a management buy-in from Bass Plc in 1997 and subsequently became Chairman until 2009. Prior to founding Gala Coral, he was a Board member at Mecca Leisure Limited. Until April 2013, he was Chairman of and was Chairman of Novus Leisure Limited from 2011 to 2012. Between 2003 and 2010, he was a Board member of The Prince of Wales’ Business in the Community Charity. He is Chairman of Kings Park Capital LLP Advisory Board and co-founder of Dunelmia Partners LLP.

Independent Non-Executive Director

Sly was appointed a non-executive director in 2009. She has been a non-executive director of Greencore Group plc since May 2013. Until 2012, she was Chief Executive of Trinity Mirror plc and a non-executive director and Chairman of the remuneration committee of the Press Association. From 1989 to 2003, she held senior positions with IPC Media Limited including Chief Executive from 1999. Previously, she was senior independent director and remuneration committee Chairman of EMI plc and a non-executive director of Littlewoods Plc. She is President of NewstrAid.

Independent Non-Executive Director

Darren was appointed a non-executive director in 2009. He has been Chairman of Poundland Group plc since July 2014, having been senior independent director for the previous 6 months. He is also a non-executive director of Wolseley plc, where he sits on the Audit, Remuneration and Nomination Committees. Previously, he was Chief Executive of Carpetright plc from May 2012 to October 2013, having been a non-executive director for the previous 8 months and Group Finance Director from 2002 to 2005. Until February 2013, he was Chairman of Sainsbury’s Bank plc and was Group Development Director and Chief Financial Officer of J Sainsbury plc between 2005 and 2011. He was Finance Director of Superdrug Stores plc from 2000 to 2002. Prior to this, he held a number of senior financial and operational management positions with Arcadia Group plc between 1988 and 2000.

Independent Non-Executive Director

Christine was appointed a non-executive director in May 2012. She has been Executive Chairman of Capgemini UK plc since 2011 and a non-executive director of Standard Chartered PLC since September 2013. She was CEO of Technology Services North West Europe from 2009 to 2010 and CFO of Global Outsourcing from 2004 to 2009. Previously, she was Corporate Development Director of Ronson Plc and held senior positions at Coopers & Lybrand. She is a Board member of The Prince of Wales’ Business in the Community Charity and MacIntyre Care. She also sits on the audit committee of The Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Trust.

Independent Non-Executive Director

Richard was appointed a non-executive director in May 2012. He is President and CEO of, the award winning online print business he founded in 2004. Prior to this, he worked for the design company, Imagination, and the BBC. He is a member of the government’s Tech City Advisory Group, which is focused on building a technology cluster in East London, a member of the Young Presidents Organisation and the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences.

Independent Non-Executive Director

David was appointed a non-executive director on 31 October 2013. He has been Chief Executive of Arriva plc since 2006, having been Deputy Chief Executive and Group Managing Director of International from 2005. He joined Arriva on its acquisition of British Bus plc in 1996, becoming a Board member in 1998. He was previously involved in the acquisition of National Express and subsequent management buy-outs leading to the creation of British Bus Group Limited. Prior to joining the bus industry in 1986, he held various senior financial positions, including Financial Director of Holyhead Group.

Delivered by Investis - link to website (opens in a new window)